You are here
Home > Album Preview > Album Preview: Maybach Music Group – “Self Made 2”

Album Preview: Maybach Music Group – “Self Made 2”

By The Voice
Hip Hop Vibe Staff Writer

Even during their playtime, Maybach Music is very serious. The leader, Rick Ross, revolutionized the mixtape game, putting album-quality material into what was once considered “throw-aways” left off real albums. Mixtapes helped many of the artists signed to Maybach Music before they were signed to Maybach Music. But, it was their compilation album that solidified them all.

Following a year of releasing albums and returning to mixtapes, Maybach Music is gearing up for a repeat of last year. There are three noticable changes from the initial Self Made album and the sequel. The changes are all revolving around the album cover and the faces on them. In 2011, the displayed artists were Rick Ross, Wale, Meek Mill, and Pill, who had a high-profile split from Warner last year.

On the Self Made 2 cover, Rick Ross is featured alongside his trusted sidekicks, Wale and Meek Mill, with noticable pick-ups, Stalley, who was signed to Maybach Music in the fall of 2011 and Omarion, who was added to the label earlier this month. Adding Omarion, who has been relevant longer than even Rick Ross, was a major pick-up for the movement, which was solidified when Warner Bros. Records agreed to be a partner. Now two albums deep with Warner, Maybach Music is preparing to release more albums throughout the summer, and Rick Ross is ready to add another release to his discography.

Track listing

  1. “Power Circle” (Gunplay, Stalley, Wale, Meek Mill, and Rick Ross featuring Kendrick Lamar)
  2. “Black Magic” (Meek Mill and Rick Ross)
  3. “This Thing of Ours” (Wale, Rick Ross, and Omarion featuring Nas)
  4. “All Birds” (Rick Ross featuring French Montana)
  5. “Actin’ Up” (Wale and Meek Mill featuring French Montana)
  6. “Fountain of Youth” (Stalley and Rick Ross featuring Nipsey Hussle)
  7. “I Be Puttin’ On” (Wale featuring Wiz Khalifa, French Montana, and Roscoe Dash)
  8. “The Zenith” (Wale, Stalley, and Rick Ross)
  9. “M.I.A.” (Omarion and Wale)
  10. “Bag of Money” (Wale, Meek Mill, and Rick Ross featuring T-Pain)
  11. “Let’s Talk” (Omarion and Rick Ross)
  12. “Black on Black” (Gunplay featuring Ace Hood and Bun B)
  13. “FluorescentInk” (Stalley, Wale, and Rick Ross)
  14. “Bury Me a G” (Rick Ross featuring T.I.)